Courtesy of Wedding Window

Friday, November 15, 2013

DAY 15:  You might this this is odd... but today, I am thankful for... LOVE LANGUAGE

The other day, one of our teachers was talking to me about this. Basically, the manner in which we express our love for others, and in turn receive love, is called our Love Language. As we were talking, she said, "I think your love language must be gifts. You love to give gifts to others, and in turn, getting small gifts from others makes you so happy" (or in words that were close to that). That made me think... 

She is right. It does my heart good to buy little gifts and give them to others. I love to buy Christmas gifts, Birthday gifts, etc. My favorite gifts to buy are little "thoughtful" gifts... you know, the ones where you are just randomly out shopping and spy something that just jumps out at you for a particular friend. And that being said, those are my favorite kind of gifts to receive as well. I love being surprised by someone's thoughtfulness towards me. It makes me feel so good to feel appreciated by my family, friends, co-workers, and even strangers. I also feel like my "Love Language" is part Acts of Service. I love doing things for others. Show me an organization that needs a volunteer, or a friend who needs help organizing her house, and I am there. And I enjoy every minute of it. 

So, today, I am thankful for the "5 Languages of Love" that help us all to show how much we love each other. They just simply brighten my day.

You should take the quiz and see what your Love Language is!

Quality Time

In Quality Time, nothing says “I love you” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby—makes you feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed activities, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Whether itʼs spending uninterrupted time talking with someone else or doing activities
together, you deepen your connection with others through sharing time.

Words of Affirmation

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—hearing the reasons behind that love sends your spirits skyward. Insults can leave you shattered and are not easily forgotten. You thrive on hearing kind and encouraging words that build you up.

Receiving Gifts

Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous—so would the absence of everyday gestures. Gifts are heartfelt symbols to you of someone else’s love and affection for you.

Acts of Service

Can helping with homework really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most wants to hear: “Let me do that for you.” Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for them tell speakers of this language their feelings don’t matter. When others serve you out of love (and not obligation), you feel truly valued and loved.

Physical Touch

A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, and thoughtful touches on the arm—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. Appropriate and timely touches communicate warmth, safety, and love to you.

No comments:

Post a Comment